Arigato Japan
Red torii gates at Fushimi Inari shrine

Guide - Culture

Japan tea ceremony guide: styles, etiquette, prices and booking

What a tea ceremony is, the three styles, JNTO's etiquette steps, venue prices from $10 (¥1,500), and how to book and where you will sit.

A Japanese tea ceremony is the ritual preparation and serving of powdered matcha, and a visitor can join a shortened version from $10 (¥1,500) at Taiho-an in Uji or from $26 (¥4,000) at Camellia in Kyoto. Private Camellia sessions start at $52 (¥8,000) per person. The host wears a kimono, you do not need to, and you follow the host on how to hold and turn the bowl.

Dollar figures use about ¥155 to US$1 and are rounded; you pay in yen, so check the rate.

What is a Japanese tea ceremony?

It is the way of tea, called chado, sado or chanoyu: the ritual of preparing and serving powdered matcha. The Japan National Tourism Organization (JNTO) describes it as a microcosm of omotenashi, Japan’s approach to hospitality.

Dozens of schools teach it, with subtle differences between them. JNTO names four values set by Sen no Rikyu: harmony, respect, purity and tranquility.

Visitors can join a shortened version. Temples, gardens, cultural facilities and hotels offer these, especially in Kyoto, per JNTO. The prices below are for visitor sessions of this kind.

What are chakai, chaji and senchado?

Chakai is the informal style, chaji the formal one and senchado the one built on leaf tea. JNTO defines each in a line.

What are chakai, chaji and senchado?
StyleWhat it is
ChakaiAn informal gathering to enjoy tea
ChajiA formal occasion that can last several hours
SenchadoA less common style that uses leaf tea (sencha), not matcha

Senchado is the exception to the matcha ritual described above, so if a listing says senchado, expect leaf tea, not matcha.

What happens during a visitor tea ceremony?

A visitor removes shoes, purifies at the stone basin, sits and drinks in turn, following the host. JNTO lists the guest’s part in this order:

  1. Remove your shoes before the waiting room. The host greets you with a silent bow.
  2. Wash your hands and rinse your mouth at the stone basin.
  3. Sit seiza, the formal kneeling position on tatami, and comment on the scroll and the flowers.
  4. The first bowl goes to the most important guest. When a bowl reaches you, raise it to the host, turn it slightly so you avoid the front, sip, praise the tea and the bowl, and pass it to the next guest.

Small sweets are often served before the second, thinner tea, and a light seasonal meal is sometimes served. JNTO lists no set phrases. Minor faux pas are usually overlooked, per JNTO.

Do you need a kimono?

No. JNTO says visitor demonstrations do not require formal attire. The host always wears a kimono, and formal occasions expect formal dress. JNTO does not specify dress for a casual gathering.

If you want one, Camellia’s Flower Teahouse rents a kimono for $39 (¥6,000) extra. Its Garden Teahouse has no kimono rental. For manners in a rented kimono, see Tea ceremony, kimono and maiko experiences.

Which school will you meet?

JNTO says dozens of schools exist and differ in subtle ways. Urasenke is the one school named at a venue: Gion Corner’s demonstration is in Urasenke’s style. No Urasenke, Omotesenke or Mushakoji visitor page was reached, so no school-issued guest guidance appears here.

Urasenke’s Konnichian in Kyoto has a first-floor tea area that serves matcha and sweets, per the Kyoto City museum page. A reservation is preferred, the fee is separate and was not found, and the area may be unavailable on event days. The gallery number is 075-431-6474.

What tea will you drink?

Matcha comes thin (usucha) or thick (koicha), and leaf tea comes as sencha or gyokuro. Taiho-an’s menu names all four, and its koicha and usucha set pairs the two matcha preparations.

The Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries (MAFF) separates them by shading. Matcha is ground from tencha, a shaded, steamed and unrolled dried leaf, in a stone mortar. Gyokuro is shaded for 20 days or more, then steamed, rolled and dried. Sencha grows in the open air and is steamed, rolled and dried. Japanese tea regions explains the types and where they grow.

How do you choose a venue?

Choose by budget, group and seating first, then by city. Each pick comes from the venue’s own page:

  • Lowest price: Taiho-an in Uji, $10 (¥1,500) for usucha or sencha.
  • A shared session in Kyoto: Camellia, adult from $26 (¥4,000), child aged 6 to 12 from $16 (¥2,500).
  • Making your own tea: Taiho-an’s matcha or sencha making experience is $23 (¥3,600).
  • An evening: a Gion Corner seat with an Urasenke-style demonstration is $39 (¥6,050).

Can you see a tea ceremony inside a show?

Yes, at Gion Corner in Kyoto. A tea ceremony seat costs $39 (¥6,050) at any age, and an adult show seat is $35 (¥5,500). The tea is an Urasenke-style demonstration inside a show of about one hour, which also has kyomai (Kyoto dance) by maiko, flower arranging, koto, gagaku and kyogen.

Regular shows start at 18:00 and 19:00, and the winter programme runs from 1 December to 11 March. Tickets are on the official e-ticket page. The official page is inconsistent about winter show days, so check the booking page for your date. Tea ceremony, kimono and maiko experiences lists every Gion Corner seat price.

Can children, groups and wheelchair users take part?

Yes, at the venues that state it. Camellia’s private options take children aged 4 and over, and its shared session takes ages 6 and over, with a child price for ages 6 to 12. Its Garden Teahouse is wheelchair accessible.

For groups, Camellia’s Flower Annex has room for 9 to 20 people from $26 (¥4,000) per person, and you contact the venue for fewer than 9. Taiho-an accepts groups of about 10 for a standard ceremony, sets its koicha and usucha set for groups of 2 or more with about 4 seats, and runs its making experience for about 8 people per session.

Which venues compare?

Prices run from $2 (¥310) for a Kanazawa sencha to $97 (¥15,000) for a private Camellia session. Camellia, Gion Corner and Taiho-an publish their own prices, and the two Kanazawa rows come from Ishikawa Prefecture pages (medium confidence).

Which venues compare?
VenueCityWhat you doPrice
CamelliaKyotoShared, private or group tea ceremonyFrom $26 (¥4,000) shared, from $52 (¥8,000) private
Gion CornerKyotoTea ceremony seat inside a show$39 (¥6,050)
Taiho-anUjiTea service, or a matcha or sencha making experience$10 to $26 (¥1,500 to ¥4,000), making $23 (¥3,600)
Shigure-teiKanazawaMatcha with house sweets, or sencha with a sweet$5 (¥730) matcha, $2 (¥310) sencha
Gyokusen-anKanazawaMatcha with premium wagashi at Kanazawa Castle$6 (¥1,000)

Where to try a tea ceremony covers each venue by city, with the booking steps its page states.

What does Camellia cost?

Camellia in Kyoto lists three private options, a shared session and a group rate, plus a kimono add-on, all per person. Prices run from $16 (¥2,500) for a shared child session to $97 (¥15,000) for the private Garden Teahouse.

What does Camellia cost?
OptionSettingPriceNote
Garden TeahousePrivate, west KyotoFrom $97 (¥15,000)Ages 4 and over; wheelchair accessible; no kimono rental
Flower AnnexPrivateFrom $65 (¥10,000)Ages 4 and over
Flower TeahousePrivate, east KyotoFrom $52 (¥8,000)Ages 4 and over; kimono +$39 (¥6,000)
Shared adultShared, Flower TeahouseFrom $26 (¥4,000)Ages 6 and over
Shared childShared, Flower TeahouseFrom $16 (¥2,500)Ages 6 to 12
GroupFlower AnnexFrom $26 (¥4,000)Room for 9 to 20; contact the venue for fewer than 9

The Garden Teahouse lists sessions at 10:00, 12:00, 14:00 and 16:00, or at 11:00, 13:00, 15:00 and 17:00. All prices are “from” prices on the operator’s page.

What does Taiho-an in Uji cost?

Taiho-an’s prices run from $10 (¥1,500) for a bowl to $26 (¥4,000) for the thick-and-thin matcha set. They are listed on the Uji tourism association’s page and include tax.

What does Taiho-an in Uji cost?
OptionPriceNote
Usucha or sencha$10 (¥1,500)Choose one
Gyokuro$12 (¥1,800)
Gyokuro set$19 (¥3,000)Gyokuro and sencha
Koicha set$26 (¥4,000)Koicha and usucha; groups of 2 or more, about 4 seats
Making experience$23 (¥3,600)Matcha or sencha; about 8 people per session

How do you book, and where do you sit?

Choose the venue and the option, then book it the way its page states. In order:

  1. Check the age limit. Camellia’s private options start at age 4 and its shared session at age 6.
  2. Pick the option and the time. Camellia’s Garden Teahouse lists fixed session times, and Taiho-an lists each option with its price.
  3. Book Taiho-an through the online form for that option, or call 0774-23-3334. The koicha and usucha set and the making experiences need 3 days’ notice.
  4. Ask about seating if you cannot kneel.
  5. Arrive ready to remove your shoes. The Taiho-an page and its FAQ are in English.

On seating, JNTO describes seiza and mentions no alternative. Venues differ. Taiho-an lists a tatami room, a table-and-chair room and a ryurei room for its experiences, and Camellia’s Garden Teahouse is wheelchair accessible.

Before you book Reserve Taiho-an’s koicha set or making experience at least 3 days ahead. For any venue, ask about seating if kneeling is a problem.

What should you ask when you book?

No 2026-27 changes appear on any venue page, so check the venue before you go. Ask about the items the pages leave open:

  • How long the session lasts and whether the host speaks English (not stated for Camellia).
  • Which seating the session uses, and whether a chair is available.
  • Opening hours and closing days for the date you want (not on the Taiho-an page; its closing dates sit in a linked PDF).
  • The fee, where the venue lists none online: Hamarikyu Gardens’ Nakajima no Ochaya in Tokyo has neither a price nor hours on its official park page, and no official price was found for Ippodo’s Kaboku tea room, Ju-An, Kaikaro or Higashi Chaya.

Where next?

Quick answers

How much does a tea ceremony cost in Japan?

At Taiho-an in Uji, a bowl of usucha or sencha is $10 (¥1,500). At Camellia in Kyoto, a shared adult session starts at $26 (¥4,000) and a private session at $52 (¥8,000) to $97 (¥15,000) per person. These are the venues' own prices.

Do I need to wear a kimono to a tea ceremony?

No. JNTO says visitor demonstrations do not require formal attire. The host always wears a kimono. Camellia's Flower Teahouse rents one for $39 (¥6,000) extra, and its Garden Teahouse has no kimono rental.

Do I have to kneel at a tea ceremony?

Not at every venue. JNTO describes seiza, kneeling on tatami, and mentions no alternative. Taiho-an in Uji lists a tatami room, a table-and-chair room and a ryurei room for its experiences, so ask the venue about seating when you book.

What is the difference between a chakai, a chaji and senchado?

Chakai is an informal gathering to enjoy tea. Chaji is a formal occasion that can last several hours. Senchado is a less common style that uses leaf tea (sencha) instead of matcha.

How far ahead should I book a tea ceremony?

Taiho-an needs 3 days' notice for its koicha and usucha set and its making experiences. No lead time is stated for Camellia, so book as early as the session list allows.