Arigato Japan
Snow-covered mountains above Hakuba Cortina

Destination - Japow

Hakuba Cortina: tree skiing, a gate and Epic cover

A small gated mountain with 6 chairlifts, a 530 m drop and the valley's snowiest reputation. Epic and the valley pass cover it; a day is listed at $42 (¥6,500).

Hakuba Cortina is a small, gated mountain with the valley’s snowiest reputation: 6 chairlifts, 530 m of vertical, a backcountry gate, and cover by both the Epic 5-day ticket and the valley pass. A shared Norikura x Cortina ticket page lists an adult day at $42 (¥6,500), the same figure a database shows for last season. Cortina’s own site was under maintenance on 27 Oct 2026, so the 2026-27 price is unconfirmed.

Dollar figures convert at ¥155 to US$1, rounded. You pay in yen, so check the rate.

Is Cortina right for you?

Cortina suits tree-skiing intermediates and stronger skiers, Epic holders and anyone who wants a cheaper day than Happo-One; skip it for big vertical, park riding or confirmed night skiing.

Good for

  • Tree and powder fans: the valley’s page pitches tree skiing in powder, and 30% of Cortina’s terrain is advanced, against 20% at Tsugaike.
  • A lower ticket than Tsugaike or Happo-One: if the shared page’s $42 (¥6,500) holds, a day is $21 (¥3,300) below their $63 (¥9,800).
  • Epic holders: it is one of the ten valley resorts on the free 5-day ticket.

Not for

  • Big-mountain seekers: the drop is 530 m and there is no gondola.
  • Night skiers who want certainty: night skiing runs on specific days that no page lists.
  • Anyone who needs English lessons: the Cortina school takes snowboarders from age 5 and has no English, per the valley’s school directory.
  • Park riders: no Cortina park is listed.

The valley’s page gives a top of 1,402 m and a base of 872 m. Its live lift list shows 6 chairlifts: 2 quads and 4 pairs, with no gondola and no T-bar. It lists 16 courses and 13,335 m of piste, split 40% beginner, 30% intermediate and 30% advanced.

How do you get from Tokyo to Cortina?

Take the Hokuriku Shinkansen to Nagano, then the Alpico express bus into the valley. A route database gives about 3 h 20 and $79 (¥12,250) from Tokyo Station, which is an estimate. The valley shuttle’s Line V, the main line, serves Cortina and there is no dedicated line. One secondary source says Alpico highway buses continue to Cortina. No Cortina fare or timetable is published.

Alpico is a private line, so a rail pass may not cover it: JR Pass for Tokyo, Hakuba and Kyoto: worth it? Other routes are in Tokyo to ski resorts.

What does a day cost in 2026-27?

An adult day is listed at $42 (¥6,500). The table comes from the shared Norikura x Cortina page on the Norikura Onsen site, because Cortina’s own ticket page was unavailable. Treat the figures as listed, not confirmed.

What does a day cost in 2026-27?
TicketPriceNote
Adult, 1 day$42 (¥6,500)Child $25 (¥3,800); preschoolers free with a guardian
Adult, 4 hours$37 (¥5,800)From first gate-in; not valid for Cortina night
Adult, spring day$35 (¥5,500)Beginner and spring rate; 12 to 18 Dec 2026 and 15 Mar to 4 Apr 2027 only
Single ride$10 (¥1,500)Child $5 (¥800)
NightUnconfirmedDays not listed

The 4-hour ticket saves only $5 (¥700) on the day ticket. A database lists a night ticket at $23 (¥3,500) and lit skiing on one lift from 17:00 to 21:00, both for 2025-26, so neither is confirmed for this winter.

Season dates are not stated for Cortina. The shared page gives Norikura’s plan, 12 Dec 2026 to 4 Apr 2027, with only its Wakakuri side open from 22 Mar. A weather site listed Cortina’s last season as 13 Dec 2025 to 30 Mar 2026.

If $42 (¥6,500) holds, a Cortina day is $30 (¥4,600) below the $72 (¥11,100) valley pass, about 41%. Buy the pass only if you want other resorts the same day. See Hakuba Valley for the pass table.

Before you book The $42 (¥6,500) sits on Norikura’s website, not Cortina’s, and matches last season’s database price. Check Cortina’s own ticket page for the 2026-27 price, night days and season dates before you pay.

Is Cortina on Epic?

Yes, through the valley. It is one of ten resorts on the free 5-consecutive-day ticket for eligible Epic holders, with no blackout dates listed. The ticket is not valid for night skiing. Hakuba is not on Ikon. Terms are in Ikon and Epic passes in Japan.

Riding a board?

A leash is mandatory for snowboards across Hakuba Valley, and riding sitting on the board is banned. The Cortina school takes snowboard pupils from age 5, with no English, per the valley’s school directory. More: Snowboarding in Japan.

What do the rules say about leaving the piste?

Cortina has a gate. It is one of five Hakuba Valley resorts that allow backcountry access, and only through a gate. The valley’s safety page asks you to submit the Mountain-Climbing Registration Form before you buy lift tickets, in person at a designated window or online, and to carry a transceiver, probe and shovel. Hours are not stated.

Nagano Prefecture’s tourism site calls Cortina’s tree and ungroomed terrain a self-responsibility area. It is not groomed or avalanche-controlled, and the individual pays for injury and rescue. The resort’s own policy and the gate’s location are unconfirmed.

Safety Never ride deep powder or trees alone. Beyond the boundary, patrol does not control the terrain. See Backcountry & safety.

Is Cortina really the snowiest?

Cortina holds the reputation; no measurement confirms it. The valley’s page claims the highest annual snowfall in the area, and a database lists a 309 cm peak base, the highest valley figure among the resorts that database lists. One is a resort claim and the other a database figure.

The 2026-27 outlook leans warm. The Japan Meteorological Agency’s September outlook (unconfirmed figures) gives Honshu’s Sea of Japan side a 50% chance of below-normal snowfall, and a snow-forecast site rates Honshu below average to average. See When is Japow?

What about a bad-weather day?

Take a bath at Hotel Green Plaza Hakuba, whose site hosts Cortina’s pages: it has a large communal bath, per a secondary article. Its price, hours and tattoo rule are unconfirmed, as are English support, rental prices and food.

Where next?

Compare Tsugaike for beginners and a confirmed price, Happo-One for the biggest drop, or the full Hakuba Valley picture. Back to the Japow hub.

Quick answers

How much is a Hakuba Cortina lift ticket in 2026-27?

An adult day is listed at $42 (¥6,500), unconfirmed for 2026-27. The shared Norikura x Cortina ticket page also lists a 4-hour ticket at $37 (¥5,800) and a child day at $25 (¥3,800), and a database shows the same adult figure for last season. Cortina's own site was under maintenance on 27 Oct 2026, so check it before you pay.

Is Hakuba Cortina the snowiest resort in the valley?

It holds that reputation, though no measurement confirms it. The valley's page claims the highest annual snowfall in the area, and a database lists a peak base of 309 cm. One is a resort claim and the other a database figure.

Can you ski the trees at Cortina?

Yes, through the gate. Cortina is one of five valley resorts with a gate, and Nagano Prefecture's tourism site calls its tree and ungroomed terrain a self-responsibility area that is not groomed or avalanche-controlled. Register first and carry a transceiver, probe and shovel.

Does Epic cover Hakuba Cortina?

Yes, through the valley's free 5-consecutive-day ticket, with no blackout dates listed. It is not valid for night skiing, so Cortina's night days are not covered.